ION Announces Annual Award Winners, Fellowships

January 31, 2014  - By

ION_logo_TThe Institute of Navigation (ION) presented its Annual Awards during the ION International Technical Meeting (ITM) 2014 in San Diego, California, January 27-29.

ION also announced the recipients of the 2014 fellow memberships.


The ION Annual Awards Program is sponsored by The Institute of Navigation to recognize individuals making significant contributions or demonstrating outstanding performance relating to the art and science of navigation.

  • Dr. Jacques Georgy received the Early Achievement Award for contributions to portable and indoor navigation using MEMS inertial sensors on consumer devices. The Early Achievement Award is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions made early in one’s career.
  • Captain Alexander Dufault received the Superior Achievement Award for his dedication as MC-130P Navigator in developing and executing new techniques, increasing the full range employment and navigation prevision of the MC-130P Combat Shadow.  The Superior Achievement Award is presented to an individual demonstrating outstanding accomplishments as a practicing navigator.
  • Dr. Young Chang Lee received the Dr. Samuel M. Burka Award for his paper “New Advanced RAIM with Improved Availability for Detecting Constellation Wide Faults, Using Two Independent Constellations” published in the Spring 2013 issue of NAVIGATION, Journal of The Institute of Navigation, Vol. 60, No. 1, pp. 71-83. The Dr. Samuel M. Burka Award recognizes outstanding achievement in the preparation of a paper contributing to the advancement of the art and science of positioning, navigation and timing.
  • Dr. Mikel Miller received the Captain P. V. H. Weems Award for his contributions to the management and encouragement of advanced navigation research and for his service to The Institute of Navigation. The Captain P. V. H. Weems Award is presented to individuals for continuing contributions to the art and science of navigation.
  • Dr. Mark Psiaki received the Tycho Brahe Award For exceptional contributions to the theory and practice of spacecraft attitude and orbit determination and to the advancement of GNSS algorithms for satellite navigation. The Tycho Brahe Award is given in memory of Mary Tornich Janislawski, developer of the Mark II Plotter, a charter member of The Institute of Navigation, the first woman to have received an ION Annual Award, a civilian aviation instructor, a teacher at the University of California at Berkeley and Stanford and a respected author. This award has been generously endowed by Col. Leonard Sugerman (USAF, Ret.), a past president of The Institute of Navigation (1970–1971).
  • Dr. Yu (Jande) Morton received the Thomas L. Thurlow Award for significant contributions to the understanding of ionospheric effects on navigation satellite signals, development of several innovative signal processing algorithms and dedication to navigation education.  The Thomas L. Thurlow Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the science of navigation.
  • Mr. Ronald Braff received the Distinguished Service Award in recognition of more than 24 years of service to NAVIGATION, The Journal of The Institute of Navigation. The Distinguished Service Award is presented for extraordinary service to The Institute of Navigation.
  • A special recognition was given to the GPS III SLR Implementation Team in grateful recognition for the multi-year effort to make the implementation of laser retro-reflector on GPS III a reality and enhance its performance and interoperability for generations to come. GPS SLR Implementation Team Members included Adde, Barbara, Ballenger, Allan, Col (Ret.), Bar-Sever, Yoaz, Dr., Beard, Ronald L., Bolden, Charles Jr., Honorable, Buckman, David, Col (Ret.), Carter, David, Davis, Mark, Dobson, Craig, Freilich, Michael, Dr., Garver, Lori, Honorable, Gruber, Bernard, Col (Ret.), Hothem, Larry, Hudnut, Kenneth, Dr., Johnson, Thomas, Dr., Kaye, Jack, Kehler, Robert, Gen, Koch, Janelle, Maj, LaBrecque, John L., Dr., Lewis, Kirk, Long, Letitia, Madden, David, Col (Ret.), Malys, Stephen, Merkowitz, Stephen, Dr. Miller, James J., Moreau, Michael, Dr., Oria, A.J., Dr., Pace, Scott, Dr., Pavlis, Erricos, Dr., Pearlman, Michael, Dr., Puhek, James, Col, Rosenberg, Robert, Maj Gen (Ret.), Scolese, Christopher Shelton, William, Gen, Skalski, Hank, Slater, James, Standley, Vaughn, Dr., Thomas, Linda, Dr. Weinberg, Norm, Wetzel, Scott, Whelan, Martin, Maj Gen, Yelle, Ray, Younes, Badri, National Space-Based PNT Advisory Board co-chaired by: Dr. James Schlesinger and Dr. Bradford Parkinson.

Fellow Membership

Election to fellow membership recognizes the distinguished contributions of The Institute of Navigation members to the advancement of the technology, management, practice and teaching the arts and science of navigation; and/or for lifetime contributions to the Institute.

  • Dr. Mark Psiaki has been elected for contributions to GNSS signal processing, software receivers, ionospheric scintillation modeling, and for satellite orbit and attitude determination.
  • Mr. Logan Scott has been elected for contributions to GNSS signal processing, anti-jam antennas, anti-spoofing measures, and crowd sourcing to locate jammers.
  • Prof. Peter Teunissen has been elected for invention of the LAMBDA method, the current standard for integer ambiguity resolution in GNSS carrier phase measurements, and for reliability theory of integer estimation.
This article is tagged with , and posted in Latest News

About the Author:

GPS World covers all aspects of the GPS and GNSS industry for our readers. To submit news, please send your release to

Comments are currently closed.